Residential training 2022

The 2022 training resumed as an in-person residential course taking place at the University of Bristol from 10-12 August. The focus of this year’s training was to provide students with an understanding of how research informs policy and how to engage with policy-makers in order to influence policy.

The 2.5 days of training was delivered by Dr Catrin Moore (St. George’s, University of London), Dr Darryl Hill (University of Bristol), Dr Linzy Elton (University College London), Dr Frances Edwards (University of Bristol and North Bristol NHS Trust), Rhiannon Wilson (Policy Bristol) and Dr Joanne Godwin (Policy Bristol).

Students completed the training by presenting their ‘brief’ to a panel comprising of Thangam Debonnaire (MP for Bristol West and Shadow Leader of the House of Commons), Louise Norton Smith (Head of Global Antimicrobial Resistance Strategy, Dept of Health and Social Care), Dr Phil Packer (Innovation Lead AMR and Vaccines, Innovate UK) and Dr Joanne Godwin (Policy Bristol).

See the full training programme for more information.

The UK-wide PhD students who attended the course are listed below:

Karen Adler, University of Leicester
Amelia Andrews, University of Oxford
Vicky Bennett, University of Bath
Lucy Bidgood, University of Dundee
Robyn Braes, University of Strathclyde
Daniel Buhl, University of Cambridge
Jonny Burnett, University of Warwick
Kevin Chau, University of Oxford
Laura Ciaccio, University of Dundee
Alastair Clements, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Aislinn Cook, St Georges, University of London
Ryan Cook, University of Nottingham
Keira Cozens, University of Bath
Victoria Daramy-Williams, Francis Crick Institute
Sarah Dodd, University of Bristol
Sean Farrell, University of Durham
Lorna Flintham, University of Bath
Isobel Garratt, University of Bath
Braith Grey, University of Plymouth
Lucile Hubert, University of Cardiff
Naomi Hughes, University of Cardiff
Rebecca Hull, University of Sheffield
Rania Issa Nassar, University of Cardiff
Dana Itani, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Amy-Louise Johnston , University of Nottingham
Molly Keith-Baker, University of Strathyclyde
Rebecca Knowles, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Winnie Lee, University of Bristol
Beatriz Llamazares, University of Bristol Newman
William Matlock, University of Oxford
Becky McCall, University College London
Lucy Miller, Imperial College London
Elmira Mohit, University of Strathclyde
Antonia Molloy, Aston University
Oluwatosin Orababa, University of Warwick
Susannah Parkhill, Francis Crick Institute
Cara Patel, University of Exeter
Emma Pritchard Sealey, University of Oxford
Hamed Rasouli Sadabad,Ulster University
Jonah Rodgus,  Imperial College London
Esther Rottenburg, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Claire Scott, University of Bristol
Jordan Sealey, University of Bristol
Pauline Siasat, University of Birmingham
Daniela Sordillo, University of Warwick
Elliot Stanton, University of Bristol
Rebecca Womersley, Imperial College London