Residential training 2021

This year’s training will take place online and will focus on how to frame a research question and design a multidisciplinary AMR research project that gives meaningful data. 

There will be an emphasis on how to talk to data scientists and social scientists from the very outset of designing a multidisciplinary AMR research project, so the right research questions can be asked to inform the collection of appropriate data (both qualitative and quantitative).

Our keynote speaker is Dr Seye Abimbola (School of Public Health, University of Sydney; Prince Claus Chair on Justice in Global Health Research, Utrecht University;  Research Fellow, National Primary Health Care Development Agency, Nigeria and Editor in Chief, BMJ Global Health). Dr Abimbola will give a keynote presentation on the decolonisation of research and how to assemble research teams across nations, to ensure equity and that the research question is genuinely relevant to the country where the project is being undertaken.

We will also be considering:

  • How to design studies that take both types of data seriously for complex challenges like AMR and how to gather data that doesn’t exist yet (i.e. gathering data from scratch).   
  • How to go about analysing data drawn from multiple places to make sense of challenges like AMR and antimicrobial use.   

Students will receive specific training over the course and work in small cross-disciplinary groups to develop the key elements of the proposed research project for funding including:

  • The research question
  • Data – what can be collected and how?
  • Biases
  • Ethical implications
  • Data analysis
  • Assembling a research project team – gathering the right people with the right skills

At the end of the training course, students will give a short presentation to their peers and a small panel of AMR research funders and researchers.

The training leads are:

  • Professor Clare Chandler, Medical anthropologist and the Director of the LSHTM Antimicrobial Resistance Centre
  • Professor Henry Buller, (more than) Human Geographer, University of Exeter, lead of the DIAL Consortium
  • Dr Ceire Costelloe, Senior Lecturer and Director of Global Digital Health Unit, Imperial College London