The 2018 residential AMR training cohort

Image credit: Dr Claire Spreadbury (University of Bristol)

AMR challenge Team 1 (Diagnostics) winners of the 'overall best press-conference'

Image credit: Dr Claire Spreadbury (University of Bristol)

AMR challenge Team 3A ('Reducing biocides in the environment') winners of the best oral presentation

Image credit: Dr Claire Spreadbury (University of Bristol)

Residential training course 2018

Fifty one students from the National PhD Training Programme’s 150-strong wider AMR training cohort were invited to join the first residential training week (held 12-17 August, 2018) at the University of Bristol.

The UK-wide PhD students attending the 2018 residential training course are listed below. 

The three challenge areas focused on were Diagnosing Resistance’ led by Prof Matthew Avison (Bristol); ‘How do we refresh the antibiotic pipeline?’, led by Prof Christopher Dowson (Warwick) and ‘Lowering the AMR resistome in the environment’ led by Dr Andrew Singer (NERC Centre for Ecology and Hydrology).

Sarah Alharbi, Eastman Dental Institute, University College London
Alistair Anderson, University of Bristol
Dr Vanesa Anton, St. George’s, University of London   
Harriet Bartlett, University of Cambridge
Toby Bartholomew, Queen’s University, Belfast  
Carlos Bastos, University of Cambridge  
Lauren Blane, Glasgow Calendonian University
Sabine Bou-Antoun, Imperial College London
Abigail Colclough, University of Birmingham
Aliyah Debbonaire, Aberystwyth University
Rebecca Devine, University of East Anglia
Dr Titus Divala, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 
Felicity Elder, University of Bath
Kerry Falconer, St. Andrews University
Jacqueline Gill, University of Oxford
Sarah Golding, University of Surrey
Elizabeth Grimsey, University of Birmingham
Yasmin Hilliam, University of Liverpool 
Alex Hughes-Games, University of Bristol 
Cajsa Isgren, University of Liverpool
Joshua Jenkins, University of Bristol 
Louis Jolly, University of Exeter
Mui Choo (Florence) Jong, University of Newcastle 
Katarzyna Karpinska, University of Manchester
Sam Kidman, Wellcome Sanger Institute 
Ethel Koranteng, University College London 
Man Li, University of Manchester
Yuetao Li, University of Southampton
Mary McCarron, Ulster University
Martin McHugh, St. Andrews University
Rebecca McHugh, University of Strathclyde 
Kate Mellor, Royal Veterinary College 
Victoria Mairi, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 
Carmina Micelli, University of Warwick 
Dr Paul Morris, University of Sheffield
Jason Murray, Ulster University
Temilola Olanrewaju, Ulster University
Laia Pasquina-Lemonche, University of Sheffield
Lorna Pate, SRUC, University of Edinburgh
Roberto Perez Chavarria, University of Bristol 
Sylvia Rofael, University College London
Sally Stewart, Glasgow Calendonian University 
Camilla Strang, Royal Veterinary College 
Wendy Thompson, University of Leeds
Holly Tipper, NERC Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
Rebecca Tonner, University of Strathclyde
Kostas Tsattalios, Robert Gordon University, Abderdeen
Alexander Williams, University of Nottingham
Like Xu, University College London
Stavros Yika-Tuesta, University of Loughborough
Anna York, University of Warwick